Yes, the “Eyes”, thats code for…

Nudge, nudge. Wink wink. Say no more

I love my wife. We have been happily married now for nearly 12 years. In our journey we have created a sort of secret language. Now this “code” or language has evolved over time but is effective. Our code is not based on words, but inconspicuous gestures and intonations in public spaces. The premise of this code is, “it’s time to get out of here”.

“The Eyes”

And then, there is, “The Eyes”. “The Eyes” are a code that I have never understood. Shadowed in confusion, the recipient to “The Eyes” is somehow meant to telepathically understand what the code is conveying. Yet, the messenger or “Giver of the Eyes”, often has no clue they even gave this bewildering message. Often this interaction ends up in the recipient seizing up and becoming completely passive.

What does this code have to do with tech. and education?

Actually, a lot. Although my metaphor opens up conversation for appropriate interpersonal communication, I would like to focus on my learnings of the use of coding for creating online games and apps. When I first heard of coding I found the idea of it boring, but my opinion began to change when I heard about what a student I am connected with in Colorado did for a project.

I am still learning, even from 9 year olds.

Screen shot 2014-02-11 at 2.40.35 PM

In #ecmp355, I have had the opportunity to engage in a mentor/relationship with Michelle Baldwin and her amazing students. Although “Team Baldwin” is based in Colorado, I can be a part of their lives through our weekly Google Hang Out sessions.

During an inquiry project on patterns, the students each took turns discussing their projects with me.  One of the students began to explain his project on coding to me (pictured above). As the student unpacked his project, the ominous phrase, “coding” began to transform from boring to interesting. I was extremely proud of this students accomplishment,  but I still found the idea of “coding” incredibly overwhelming.

From interesting to awesome

In #ecmp355 we were challenged to explore coding. As such, I decided to check out a 1 hour tutorial.

Screen shot 2014-03-10 at 2.52.26 PM       Screen shot 2014-03-10 at 10.42.17 PM

The tutorial on Code.org is simple to use, has great videos, and allows you to manipulate games based on Angry Birds and Zombies. I realized the coding had nothing to do with boring and everything to do with control and creating things online! I highly recommend this tutorial for any educator as it gives you a basic rundown of coding lingo (repeat and if or else statements), allows you to progress through a familiar game format, only takes 1 hour, and you even get a certificate!

-1 What about the metaphor?

I suppose the commonality between online coding and human code is that it is a pattern of communication that is designed for a specific recipient. Both of these examples have the possibility to create frustration if not understood or wonder if communicated properly.

Thanks for reading.

 

This entry was posted in #Ecmp355 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment